PeakVisor

PeakVisor 覆盖
全球适当的客户。

Apple Search Ads 作为在客户获取、成本效率和转化率方面
都有着出色业绩的广告平台,
有助于在新市场中取得成功。

目标

  • 提高 app 曝光度。
  • 覆盖狭窄类别中的合适客户。
  • 在过渡到订阅业务模式的过程中
    继续促进客户获取。

策略

  • 使用搜索匹配获取新市场中的 受众洞察。
  • 按国家/地区本地化关键词策略,补充自然增长。
  • 针对季节效应使用 Creative Sets 进行优化。

成果

  • Apple Search Ads 是 PeakVisor 的
    最佳广告平台,用于获取客户和提高收入。
  • Apple Search Ads 的成本效率是
    任何其他平台的两倍。
  • Creative Sets 已帮助提高 12% 的转化率。

PeakVisor 拓展并
逐渐发展其业务。

PeakVisor 使用先进的 3D 地图 (其中包含山野小路、山峰、山坳通道、观景台,甚至停车场信息) 帮助远足者和滑雪者在山地中寻找路途。此外,独特的增强现实功能也可以让户外运动爱好者通过相机视图轻松辨识和探索山地。PeakVisor 由 Routes Software SRL 公司在意大利推出,需要提高该 app 在成熟且狭窄的类别的小众受众当中的曝光度。

“我们遇到的一个最大的挑战是远足者更愿意使用熟悉的产品。他们不愿意了解如何使用未经证实且可能会影响野外安全的新 app”,Routes Software 的创始人 Denis Bulichenko 说。“此外,覆盖受众也可能会比较困难。户外运动爱好者根据定义就是喜欢独自待在自然,而喜欢坐在设备前的一群人。”

PeakVisor 最初尝试了各种客户获取策略,包括内容营销、论坛推广、社交媒体广告以及邀请网红参加活动,但都没有发现任何可扩展的解决方案。“当我们了解到 Apple Search Ads 时,基于意图的广告这个想法油然而生。Apple Search Ads 提供了一种独特的方式呈现在人们面前,他们通过搜索‘山地天气预报’之类的内容已显示出相关意图。我们看到使用 Apple Search Ads 后效果立竿见影,它很快就成为了我们获取客户和保持增长的核心渠道,极大地提高了我们的效率和收入”,Bulichenko 说。

发掘新市场洞察并本地化关键词策略。

PeakVisor 背后的六人小团队正集中全力冲出欧洲,他们找到 Apple Search Ads,希望能够在美国和加拿大这样未涉足的市场中以及在几个亚洲国家/地区 (如日本、台湾和韩国) 经济高效地获取客户。他们将目标放在与相似或补充兴趣以及地理术语 (热门山脉、度假胜地和城镇) 相关的关键词上。

但最重要的是,PeakVisor 依靠搜索匹配作为关键词发掘工具。通过测试搜索匹配发现的新关键词,PeakVisor 发现高达 90% 的最有效关键词可以对应某个特定市场。*

“虽然一般的关键词和竞品 app 存在一些重叠,但各市场之间还是存在显著的文化差异,由于使用 Apple Search Ads,我们能够更好地理解这些差异”,Bulichenko 说。“例如,在美国,徒步倾向于更加荒野无人的地方。这意味着,美国的目标受众会搜索 ‘backpacking’ (背包旅行) 和 ‘camping’ (露营),而不会像欧洲客户那样在阿尔卑斯山搜索 ‘mountain huts’ (山间小屋) 和 ‘cable cars’ (缆车)。”

市场之间的其他关键差异可能是远足者所认为的重要徒步成就。PeakVisor 发现,美国的远足者会搜索“fourteeners”(高于海拔 14,000 英尺的独立山峰) 作为一个类别。其他国家/地区没有该搜索词,可能是因为在美国外的高度相关搜索项以米而不是英尺为单位。

由于搜索匹配,PeakVisor 发现了另一个差异:关键词“mountain climb”(登山) 与一个热门的赛车游戏有关。在亚洲国家和地区 (日本、中国、台湾),很难区分搜索这个词的人是玩家还是远足者。该项洞察帮助了 PeakVisor 排除在这些市场中可能无关的词。

“Apple Search Ads 帮助我们有效地理解和进入新市场。它在指导我们的本地化工作和充当市场调查工具中发挥关键性的作用。我们之前为进入美国市场所做的努力收效甚微。但使用 Apple Search Ads,我们能够成功地本地化用于美国的策略,快速取得最佳效果,并立即覆盖大规模的合适客户。美国现已成为我们最大的市场之一”,Bulichenko 肯定地说。

事实上,Apple Search Ads 作为付费 app 的前三年都是 PeakVisor 在每个市场中获取客户和提升收入方面业绩最佳的付费渠道。它的成本效率比任何其他平台高出 2 倍多。* 使用 Apple Search Ads,PeakVisor 还发现自然下载量也在逐渐增加,促进了在新市场中的增长。

通过更多的广告变体针对季节效应进行优化。

对于户外活动,季节效应会产生显著影响。徒步爬山旺季会从五月持续到十月。然后,在十二月到来年四月之间,人们倾向于用徒步鞋交换滑雪板。虽然 PeakVisor 的营销策略需要针对每个季节进行调整,但宣传该 app 可以全年为客户提供服务仍然非常重要。

“Creative Sets 有助于更好地了解什么样的创意组合可以让不同的受众更乐于安装。不论是进入新市场还是进行季节优化,Apple Search Ads 都可以为我们提供加快迭代和最大程度提高业绩所需的洞察。事实上,Creative Sets 已将转化率提高了 12%”,Bulichenko 披露道。

借助 Creative Sets,Apple Search Ads Advanced 的广告商可以使用其 App Store 产品页中的所有屏幕截图和 app 预览实现不同的广告变体。PeakVisor 利用 Creative Sets 不仅可以根据季节,而且可以根据国家/地区优化广告的相关度。例如,PeakVisor 了解美国的客户害怕没有蜂窝网络。他们针对美国客户测试了强调不同产品特点的广告变体。Creative Sets 预先展示该 app 还可以离线使用,这在美国受众中获得了很好的效果。

使用新的业务模式保持增长。

当 PeakVisor 发布时,只可以购买。一段时间后,团队决定该 app 需要过渡到订阅业务模式以继续开发先进的功能和提供出色的用户体验。此次转变的数月后,Apple Search Ads 业绩持续强势:PeakVisor 通过 Apple Search Ads 获取的新客户比往年多 61%。* 根据 PeakVisor 的报告,放弃成为付费 app 还降低了 66% 的每次获客成本,并提高了 307% 的转化率。

“新的订阅模式要求测量间隔更长以及与后台系统的集成更紧密。利用 Apple Search Ads 归因 API,我们可以专注于不仅能增加安装次数而且能深度吸引付费客户的功能”,Bulichenko 说。

根据 PeakVisor 的报告,订阅转换也展现出美好前景,通过 Apple Search Ads 转化获取的用户数比自然订阅用户数高 37%。Routes Software 计划在业务发展的新阶段继续投入 Apple Search Ads 并使用 Creative Sets 优化效果。该团队特别有兴趣在近期测试重新吸引用户广告系列。

“Apple Search Ads 是我们在营销方面做的最明智的决定。即使在像我们那样狭窄且充满挑战的市场中,它也会继续成为获取用户的最高效渠道。我会告诉所有开发者和企业家先试试 Apple Search Ads。你会理解你的目标受众,这份理解是无价的”,Bulichenko 这样认为。

通过 Apple Search Ads,我们能够将策略本地化并快速优化,然后覆盖适当的客户。

Denis Bulichenko,Routes Software

公司简介

  • PeakVisor
  • 旅游类别
  • 2016 年成立
  • 总部位于意大利
  • App Store 评分 4+

PeakVisor

PeakVisor reaches the
right customers around the world.

Apple Search Ads drives success in new markets as top
performing advertising platform for customer acquisition,
cost efficiency, and conversion rate.

Goals

  • Improve app visibility.
  • Reach the right customers in a crowded category.
  • Continue to drive acquisition
    during transition to
    subscription business model.

Strategy

  • Use Search Match to gain
    audience insights in new markets.
  • Localize keyword strategies by country and complement organic growth.
  • Optimize for seasonality with Creative Sets.

Results

  • Apple Search Ads is PeakVisor’s
    #1 advertising platform for acquisition and revenue.
  • Apple Search Ads drives 2x
    better cost efficiency than any other platform.
  • Creative Sets helped improve conversion rates by as much as 12 percent.

PeakVisor expands and
evolves its business.

PeakVisor helps hikers and skiers safely navigate in the mountains with cutting-edge 3D maps of trails, summits, passes, viewpoints, and even parking. Unique augmented reality features also offer outdoor enthusiasts easy mountain identification and exploration right through their camera view. Launched in Italy by the company Routes Software SRL, PeakVisor needed to raise app visibility with a niche audience in a mature, crowded category.

“One of our biggest challenges is that hikers prefer to stick with familiar products. They aren’t willing to learn how to use a new, unproven app that could affect their safety in the wilderness,” says Denis Bulichenko, Founder of Routes Software. “Additionally, reaching our audience can be tough. By definition, outdoor enthusiasts like to spend time alone in nature, not sitting in front of devices.”

PeakVisor initially tried a variety of acquisition tactics including content marketing, outreach in forums, social media ads, and influencer engagement at events but didn’t find any scalable solutions. “When we learned about Apple Search Ads, the idea of intent-based ads clicked. Apple Search Ads offered a unique way to get in front of people already showing relevant intent by searching for things like ’mountain weather forecast.’ We saw immediate results with Apple Search Ads and it quickly became our core channel for customer acquisition and growth, driving the best efficiency and revenue,” says Bulichenko.

Discover new market insights and localize keyword strategy.

Focused on expansion beyond Europe, the small team of six behind PeakVisor turned to Apple Search Ads to drive cost-effective customer acquisition in untapped markets like the U.S. and Canada, as well as several Asian countries and regions like Japan, Taiwan, and South Korea. They targeted keywords related to similar or complementary interests as well as geographic terms (popular mountain ranges, resorts, and towns).

But most importantly, PeakVisor relied on Search Match as a tool for keyword discovery. By testing new keywords uncovered by Search Match, PeakVisor found that as many as 90 percent of the most effective keywords can be specific to a particular market.*

“There is some overlap around generic keywords and competitor apps but there are significant cultural differences by market that we were able to better understand thanks to Apple Search Ads,” says Bulichenko. “For example, hiking in the U.S. tends to be wilder, more unchartered. That means our target audience in the U.S. searches for ’backpacking’ and ’camping’ instead of ’mountain huts’ and ’cable cars’ like our European customers do in the Alps.”

Another key difference between markets can be what hikers consider important hiking accomplishments. PeakVisor found that in the U.S., hikers search for “fourteeners” (independent summits higher than 14,000 feet) as a category. That search term doesn’t exist in other countries, perhaps also because height-related searches are measured in meters not feet outside the U.S.

PeakVisor discovered another nuance thanks to Search Match: the keyword “mountain climb” is related to a popular car racing game. In Asian countries and regions (Japan, China, Taiwan), it can be particularly hard to distinguish whether people searching on this term are gamers or hikers. This insight helped PeakVisor exclude potentially irrelevant terms in those markets.

“Apple Search Ads helps us effectively understand and enter new markets. It plays a crucial role in guiding our localization efforts and acting as a tool for market research. Our previous efforts to enter the U.S. market were fruitless. But with Apple Search Ads, we were able to successfully localize our strategy for the U.S., quickly optimize for performance, and reach the right customers at the right moment at scale. The U.S. is now one of our biggest markets,” confirms Bulichenko.

In fact, Apple Search Ads was PeakVisor’s top performing paid channel across customer acquisition and revenue in every market for its first three years as a paid app. It also drove more than 2x better cost efficiency than any other platform.* With Apple Search Ads, PeakVisor has also noticed incremental organic downloads, augmenting growth in new markets.

Optimize for seasonality with more ad variations.

With outdoor activities, seasonality figures prominently. Peak hiking season lasts from May to October. Then, between December and April, people tend to trade their hiking boots for skis and snowboards. PeakVisor’s marketing tactics need to adjust for each season but communicating that the app serves its customers year-round remains vital.

“Creative Sets has been instrumental in better understanding what mix of creative makes different audiences more likely to install. Whether it’s entering a new market or optimizing for the season, Apple Search Ads gives us the insights we need to iterate faster and maximize performance. In fact, Creative Sets has driven improvements in conversion as high as 12 percent,” reveals Bulichenko.

With Creative Sets, Apple Search Ads Advanced advertisers can enable different ad variations using all of the screenshots and app previews from their App Store product page. PeakVisor leverages Creative Sets to optimize relevancy of its ads not only by season but by country. For example, PeakVisor knows customers in the U.S. fear losing cellular coverage. They tested ad variations for Americans that emphasize different product features. Creative Sets showcasing upfront that the app can also work offline performed best for U.S. audiences.

Keep driving growth with new business model.

When PeakVisor launched, it was available for purchase. Over time, the team decided the app needed to transition to a subscription business model to continue developing state-of-the-art functionality and delivering a superior user experience. In the months following this shift, Apple Search Ads performance has continued strong: PeakVisor acquired 61 percent more new customers through Apple Search Ads than the previous year.* Moving away from being a paid app has also led to 66 percent lower cost per acquisition and 307 percent higher conversion rate, according to PeakVisor.

“The new subscription model requires longer measurement intervals and tighter integration with our backend systems. The Apple Search Ads Attribution API allows us to focus on features which drive not only installs but highly-engaged paying customers,” says Bulichenko.

Subscription conversion has also shown promise, with users acquired through Apple Search Ads converting at a 37 percent higher rate than organic subscribers, according to PeakVisor. Routes Software plans to continue investing in Apple Search Ads and optimizing performance using Creative Sets during this new phase of its business evolution. The team is particularly interested in testing re-engagement campaigns in the near future.

“Apple Search Ads is the best decision we made in terms of marketing. It continues to be the most effective channel of user acquisition even in a market as crowded and challenging as ours. I tell all developers and entrepreneurs to try Apple Search Ads first. You can gain invaluable understanding of your target audience,” believes Bulichenko.

With Apple Search Ads, we were able to localize our strategy, quickly optimize, and reach the right customers.

Denis Bulichenko, Routes Software

Company Snapshot

  • PeakVisor
  • Travel category
  • Founded in 2016
  • Based in Italy
  • App Store rating of 4+

View on the App Store