Wayfair

Wayfair gewinnt dank höherer
Reichweite viele treue Kunden dazu.

Der Möbel- und Einrichtungshändler gewann viele hochengagierte Kunden hinzu und konnte seine Installationen über Apple Search Ads im Vorjahresvergleich um 400 Prozent steigern.

Ziele

  • Neue, engagierte Kunden gewinnen.
  • Installationen fördern.
  • Effizienz der Kampagnen maximieren.

Strategie

  • Keywordgebote an die Performance anpassen.
  • Kampagnenreichweite auf alle relevanten Nutzer ausweiten.
  • Ehemalige Kunden wiedergewinnen.

Ergebnisse

  • 400 Prozent mehr neue Apple Search Ads Downloads im Vorjahresvergleich.
  • 250 Prozent höhere Rentabilität der Werbeausgaben (ROAS).
  • Über 50 Prozent mehr Downloads durch Weglassen von Zielgruppenattributen.

Wayfair erreicht mit Apple Search Ads Liebhaber eleganter Wohnkultur.

Seit Wayfair 2002 seinen Onlineshop öffnete, kaufen Menschen für ihr Zuhause anders ein. 2014 veröffentlichte Wayfair eine iOS App, mit der Kunden noch einfacher in einem Katalog mit über 18 Millionen Produkten stöbern und einkaufen konnten. Heute können sich Shopper dank AR und VR Features in 3D anschauen, wie ihre neuen Möbel bei ihnen aussehen werden.

Um in den wichtigen Märkten USA, Kanada, Deutschland und GB mehr mobile Kunden zu gewinnen, musste das Wayfair Team seine Akquisestrategie anpassen – mit stärkerer Markeninteraktion und mehr hochwertigen Downloads zu effizienten Kosten.

Keywords optimieren – Wachstum skalieren.

Um mehr Kunden zu erreichen, nutzte Wayfair Daten auf Keywordebene für präzise Performanceanalysen. Auf Basis der Rentabilität der Werbeausgaben (ROAS) konnte das Team die am besten funktionierenden Keywords ermitteln, weniger effiziente Suchbegriffe entfernen und die Gebote für die relevantesten Keywords aufstocken.

„Wir fanden heraus, dass bestimmte Keywords zwar viele Installationen auslösen, aber nur geringes Engagement und umgekehrt. Das hat uns sehr geholfen, unsere Gebotsstrategie anzupassen“, sagt Katie Lynch, Associate Director of App Marketing bei Wayfair.

Wayfairs verfeinerte Strategie zog eine 250-prozentige ROAS Steigerung nach sich – mit stark steigendem Installationsvolumen und weiteren Skalierungsmöglichkeiten. Das Team plant bereits, in neuen Märkten eine ähnliche Strategie für seine anderen Lifestyle-Apps Birch Lane und Joss & Main einzusetzen.

Größere Reichweite durch minimale Zielgruppenattribute.

Um ein möglichst breites Kundenspektrum anzusprechen, entfernte Wayfair sämtliche Zielgruppenattribute. So konnten auch Nutzer mit aktiviertem „Ad-Tracking beschränken“ (ATB) erreicht werden. Da der Ansatz riskant zu sein schien, probierte das Team ihn zuerst in Kampagnen mit Mitbewerberkeywords aus. „Alle Nutzer einzubeziehen hat sich definitiv ausgezahlt. Wir konnten ein Maximum an potenziellen Kunden erreichen und unsere Downloads um über 50 Prozent steigern – immer unter Einhaltung unserer ROI-Ziele“, sagt Lynch.

Neben einer größeren, vielfältigeren mobilen Kundenbasis erreichte Wayfair mit Apple Search Ads aber auch engagiertere Shopper mit deutlich höheren Anmelder- und Rückkehrerquoten als bei anderen Plattformen. „Apple Search Ads hat unsere Installationen im Vorjahresvergleich um 400 Prozent gesteigert und mehr Shopper mit größerem Vorinteresse für uns gewonnen“, erklärt Lynch.

Wiedergewinnung als Schlüssel für kontinuierlichen Erfolg.

Wayfair plant, seine Investition in Apple Search Ads noch auszuweiten, um ehemalige Kunden zurückzugewinnen. „Erneute Downloads werden uns helfen, früheren Nutzern unsere neuen Features und das verbesserte App-Erlebnis vorzustellen“, meint Lynch. Diese vielversprechende Strategie will das Team für sein gesamtes App-Portfolio in verschiedenen Märkten anwenden.

Apple Search Ads hat unsere Installationen im Vorjahresvergleich um 400 Prozent gesteigert und mehr Shopper mit größerem Vorinteresse für uns gewonnen.

Katie Lynch, Wayfair

Unter­nehmensprofil

  • Wayfair
  • Kategorie „Shopping“
  • Gegründet 2002
  • Sitz in Boston, Massachusetts

Wayfair

Wayfair broadens reach and gains
more loyal customers.

The furniture and décor retailer attracted more highly engaged customers,
growing Apple Search Ads installs by 400 percent year over year.

Goals

  • Reach more engaged customers.
  • Drive more installs.
  • Maximize campaign efficiency.

Strategy

  • Adjust keyword bidding based on performance.
  • Broaden campaign reach to all relevant users.
  • Reengage former customers.

Results

  • 400 percent increase YOY in new Apple Search Ads downloads.
  • 250 percent improvement on ROAS.
  • More than 50 percent increase in downloads after removing audience refinements.

Wayfair engages the right home décor
enthusiasts with Apple Search Ads.

Since 2002, Wayfair has been reinventing the way people shop for everything home. In 2014, Wayfair launched an app for iOS, making it easier for customers on the go to browse and purchase over 18 million products. Today, augmented and virtual reality features let shoppers place 3D furniture into their own spaces, test layouts, and get inspired.

To drive customer growth on mobile across the U.S., Canada, Germany, and UK, the Wayfair team needed to diversify their acquisition strategy. They wanted to increase brand engagement and attract incremental, quality downloads while maintaining cost efficiency.

Optimize keywords to scale growth.

To attract more customers, the Wayfair team leveraged keyword-level insights and evaluated performance at a granular level. They identified a subset of top performing keywords based on return on ad spend (ROAS), removed less efficient search terms, and adjusted bids accordingly to capitalize on the most relevant keywords.

“We found that certain keywords drove higher install rates but lower engagement and vice versa, which was an insight that helped us optimize our bidding strategy,” says Katie Lynch, Associate Director of App Marketing at Wayfair.

Through this refined strategy, Wayfair improved overall ROAS by 250 percent, driving substantial install growth and unlocking additional scale. The team plans to implement a similar strategy in new markets and with the apps for their other Lifestyle brands, Birch Lane and Joss & Main.

Broaden reach by minimizing audience refinements.

To connect with the widest audience possible, Wayfair removed all audience refinements, helping them reach more customers including those with the Limit Ad Tracking (LAT On) setting enabled. This approach felt like a risk initially, so the team began by testing it on competitive keyword campaigns first. “Including all users paid off. We reached the most potential customers and downloads increased by over 50 percent while maintaining our ROI targets,” says Lynch.

In addition to growing and diversifying Wayfair’s mobile customer base, customers acquired through Apple Search Ads were highly engaged. They demonstrated substantially higher sign-in rates and repeat visit rates than shoppers from other platforms. “We grew our installs from Apple Search Ads by 400 percent year over year, and attracted more shoppers who show stronger intent,” shares Lynch.

Reengage to drive continued success.

Wayfair plans to reconnect with lapsed customers by expanding its investment with Apple Search Ads. “We are now finding that redownloads can help us re-introduce former users to our new features and improved app experience,” Lynch says. The team aims to leverage this winning strategy across their full portfolio of apps as well as additional markets.

We grew our installs from Apple Search Ads by 400 percent year over year, and attracted more shoppers who show stronger intent.

Katie Lynch, Wayfair

Company Snapshot

  • Wayfair
  • Shopping category
  • Founded in 2002
  • Based in Boston, Massachusetts

View on the App Store